Painting Awesome: MAN CAVE

8 Jan

Ok, here we go. I’m not even going to look at the last time I posted. Let’s just do this.

When we first bought our house, I told my husband he could (and should) have a “man cave”. Which then evolved into “man room” because he wasn’t too fond of the term “cave” for god knows why. My reasoning for offering this up to him was twofold: 1 – I basically get total say over decorating the rest of the house, letting him do whatever he wants in there. 2 – I had a place to put my sports memorabilia as well. Wins all around for me!

For many months he would tell people it wasn’t really a man room since it was pretty much just all my stuff in there (not true, but ok, it’s also a quasi office since there’s really nowhere else to put the desk!). But I had a vision. Oh I had a vision! He clearly just couldn’t see that vision. He was totally unconvinced that this (tiny) room would turn into a man room.

Cue painting. I know he thought he was going to get a resounding HELL NO when he told me he wanted to paint the room red, but clearly he didn’t know that I already had this vision for that room (again, I don’t know why he can’t see my vision!). Red is both a Phillies’ color and a Red Sox color, so I was fine with it (also a Sixers’ color and Liverpool color). Anyway, my point is he was totally surprised when I agreed to paint the room red.

Here’s the tricky part… neither of us have ever really painted a room before. He, I’m pretty sure, never had before, and I hadn’t painted a room since I painted my room 4 different colors (one for each wall) in my teens.

Let’s not talk about how long ago that was.

Also, my husband seems to think I know how to do everything. Well, everything he doesn’t know how to do. He gets annoyed at me when I’m like, “I have no idea what tools we need to paint!” He thinks I’m just purposely not telling him. As if that would make my life any easier?? Lol. So we decided to paint the smallest room in our house first.

Since I’m a bargain shopper to the bone, and Home Depot was having a sale on a particular paint, I was like, “It’s paint. It’s on sale. That’s what we’re getting. How bad can it be?” I was warned by at least two people not to get Behr paint. I got Behr paint. I now regret this.

Two coats in, the walls looked like this:

notice the Phillies' and Red Sox fan pulls I bought!

notice the Phillies’ and Red Sox fan pulls I bought!

Terrible, right?? It also didn’t help that my husband and I are… quite particular about things. Note the floor covered in newspaper and every surface taped. So we were clearly going to keep painting until it looked good.

Three coats in…

ugh

ugh

It took us five, FIVE coats of paint to finish the smallest room ever. I am never (ever ever) painting a room red, OR with Behr paint again.

FINALLY

FINALLY

Ok here are some before and after shots.

Before (obviously):

note the "Putrid Peach" on the walls

note the “Putrid Peach” on the walls

After:

2012-09-29 22.02.51

2012-09-29 22.03.09

2012-09-29 22.03.24

2012-09-29 22.03.34

Holy man room, Batman, am I right?? But I totally love it. I love the idea of being able to display all sports/music-related memorabilia in one room. Oh yeah, and my husband loves it too…

It took less than a week after we finished painting for him to fill it. We did not have all of this stuff beforehand (some, but not all). My husband, who doesn’t like “things”, went a bit cray cray buying things for his man room, lol. I had to put a stop to it at some point so we can still add things to it down the road! Like the “gig” wall on the right – that’s going to be a wall of concert posters we acquire.

2012-09-29 22.02.43

Also, in case you’re wondering, I pushed hard for a futon in that room. Which meant it was my job to find one that fit in that little nook (not exactly easy to do)! I like things that double as sleeping areas, if the need ever arises for visitors. I mean, yes, we have a guest bedroom, but if we have LOTS of visitors, we can pull this out a few feet and put the arms down and it is, indeed, a bed. If anyone’s wondering, I found it online at Target! Don’t worry, I got it on sale at the time. :)

These pics were taken a while ago, so my husband now has a few sports-related pillows that I bought and my mom made him for Christmas. My mom made him pinstripe curtains, too! But we don’t have them yet, so they’re not up yet, so no pics of that yet.

Oh, and my husband has since declared it “The Man Cave”, like it was his idea.

Cue eye roll.

-C

One Response to “Painting Awesome: MAN CAVE”

  1. cheri cord January 11, 2013 at 3:24 pm #

    looks terrific!!!!! i like the idea of an extra bed also.
    AOB

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

