Painting Awesome: Moroccan Stenciling

21 May

It only took me 8 years to do this. SLIGHT exaggeration… I guess it was more like 3 months. Yeah, it really shouldn’t have taken that long at all. I remember telling my friend I was going to finish in the beginning of April before she came to visit. Ha! *snort* Yeah, that totally didn’t happen. I’m sorry, but stenciling is h-a-a-a-r-d.

Before more people ask:  No, I did not buy a (hard, plastic) stencil. Yes, I do know that said stencils exist. But obviously you don’t know me well enough to know that if I can get it for free then that’s the way I’m gonna go! Yes, I downloaded my paper stencil from the interwebs, and in my further defense, after doing one set of my bookshelves and moving to the other one, I found out my bookshelves are two different sizes! So I couldn’t have used a purchased and/or non paper stencil anyway. Also, I’d just like to point out that it was a royal pain in the ass to have two different sizes of bookshelves. I like to think that since the pattern is so “busy” you can’t tell that they don’t match up in size/height/placement of stencils. DON’T LOOK TO CLOSELY.

So let’s start over. We painted our living room in March… I think. Maybe? I don’t even know. Sometime in 2013 that wasn’t April or May. As I may have mentioned, we’re on a mission to rid our house of “putrid peach”. AKA the color every G-D wall is painted in our house and is unnoticeable when visiting… but drives you bonkers when you live with it. Gah. Anyway. We picked a darker taupe color and I love it. Ok to be fair I’d probably love anything that wasn’t putrid peach, but whatever. I still love it.

You can see the peach on the left by the door. *shutter*

You can see the original peach on the left by the door. *shutter* New color is the color around the door.

better pic of the color

better pic of the new color

Stevie was not a fan of us painting “her” room, since we had to move her crate into the dining room for a couple days. Note the death stare. She doesn’t like change.

I don't like change.

I don’t like change.

As we were painting the living room, we decided to paint the built-in shelves that are in there as well. Because for SOME god.forsaken.reason, whoever painted putrid peach (PP) also chose to put it on the backs of the damn shelves. The shelves that were white on all sides except PP on the back. Yeah. Horrendous, I know. So we painted them white and I had the GENIUS idea to stencil the backs of the shelves, because Pinterest told me to.

stencil time

stencil time

Now here’s where I pat myself on the back (and you should too). I took this damn stencil (ok, I copied it like 6 times, but still) and taped it on each shelf and then traced it with pencil. That’s like 86,000 stencilings. Literally.

Like so

Like so

Not exactly an easy or fun time.

and like so-er

and like so-er

I also did the bottom two shelves (you can see in the pic below), which I didn’t need to do because I was tired of painting the damn shelves actually decided I didn’t want the pattern to go down that far and so I ended up trying to erase the pencil, failing miserably, and painting over the pencil marks again. Oh well. You live, you learn.

paint time

paint time

And then I painted between all those little lines (I should point out that I am nowhere near even a decent painter, so this took lots of time and I took turns painting white and yellow, to hide the mistakes). And then I did it again. And again. And then I usually did another trip around with the white to make sure the lines looked good. It looked good from afar from the first coat, so my husband had the hardest time understanding why I continued to paint for weeks and weeks (“Is it done yet???”) but when you paint like a child, this is just what you have to do. He apparently thought I just loved painstakingly painting little lines while perched precariously on a ladder. (say that 5 times fast)

Here’s the greatest part of this post – I took lots of terrible pictures of the finished product because no matter what time of day it was, the lighting was awful on at least one side of the structure. So use your imagination.

see? one side lit up. no amount of other lighting seemed to help either.

see? one side lit up. no amount of other lighting seemed to help either.

2013-05-08 23.01.24 2013-05-08 23.01.14

no, that's not a finger print. it's probably the ghost of putrid peach.

no, that’s not a finger print. it’s probably the ghost of putrid peach.

Anyway, even though I complain a lot, I love it! And totally would do it all over again. I’ve even contemplated it for the bathroom. Hmm… I think my husband would kill me, though, remembering how long it took me to do these freakin’ shelves.

My living room is now pinterestified.

Totally a word.

-C

One Response to “Painting Awesome: Moroccan Stenciling”

  1. Found This Painted That May 22, 2013 at 8:41 pm #

    Great job. You are very, very patient!! and your ghost scares me. Peach. eww.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

