First Post – Boom.

15 Dec

Oh, hi there. Come here often? No? First time? You don’t say!

(not actually me, in case you were wondering)

Welcome, friends, to Home Made Awesome! I realize for the moment my readers will be the same readers I had on my previous blog, so I’ll start by answering the burning questions you didn’t actually ask:

Why the new blog?

Let me try to explain my thought process here. For starters, I wanted to create a not-so-personal blog. Something that people I don’t know would also read. Also, I wanted to move to WordPress because it’s SO much easier for people to comment! Also also, people can sign up on their own to receive my posts when they’re published. EASILY. That’s the key there. It’s easy! Promise. For those who were on my automatic email list before, it looks like that’s not an option on WordPress, so… um… sorry. You’ll just have to figure out how to follow the blog on your own. If you have any trouble, email me at homemadeawesomeblog (at) gmail (dot) com. (I’m looking at you, mom.)

What’s different about this blog?

I wanted to write about things more people would want to read about and comment on, so I decided to change my topics from personal to something else. Now, I don’t mean that I won’t write about what’s happening in my life at all, I just mean that I don’t want that to be ALL I write about, and that seemed to be where the other blog was heading. On this blog, my only plan is to write about things that are awesome, including, but not limited to: food, decorating, holidays, throwing parties, DIY, and maybe pretty shoes every so often.

Alright, so what’s with the name?

I threw around a bunch of stupid names for a while and nothing worked. I’m terrible at picking blog names. Is it weird that I actually respect certain bloggers for their creativity in picking names alone? Probably. But you have no idea how hard it is to come up with a clever name that encompasses everything you want to blog about.

You may not have noticed, but I separated “home” and “made” because I don’t intend for this blog to be all about “homemade” stuff. It’s going to be about making things awesome… maybe at home. Probably at home. And not just “making” in the sense of actually making things. Just making things awesome, so decorating and other such things, too. Creating a picture of awesome. Does that makes sense? It makes sense in my head. That’s all that matters, right?

========================================

I’m still learning WordPress (obviously, since I just started), so I’m sorry in advance if every time you come to the blog it looks completely different. I’m sure I’ll play with the colors and the layout for quite a while.

Ok, let’s be serious, mostly just the colors.

I hope you’ll join me on this new little adventure of mine!

xxx

5 Responses to “First Post – Boom.”

  1. Ryann December 15, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    Love!!! So fun – excited to see where it goes.
    xoxo

  2. Lela December 15, 2011 at 6:26 pm #

    So I wanted to be the first comment on the first blog, but I guess I’ll take 2nd. I’m excited because maybe you can make MY home awesome. Feel free to visit and get inspired.

    • laura Jordan December 15, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

      Looking forward to this blog, you do an amazing job…

  3. Cassie December 15, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

    Excited to keep reading the blog! I am sure it will be awesome.

  4. Kat December 16, 2011 at 7:31 am #

    Liking the first post… excited to keep reading! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

