Christmas Awesome: It’s The Little Things

16 Dec

My house smelled really awesome yesterday.

Reason 1:

Yumz

Do you have a programmable crockpot?! I do! Well, now I do (thanks mom!). I’m like 10 years late to this party. For the longest time, I used to wonder how people set their crockpot on low and left it all day long without it burning. I should add that I had my last crockpot, not programmable, since college. So, like… lots of years. I’m not going to tell you how many. Just know that it’s kind of sad that it took me until about a month ago to realize that all these people had programmable crockpots that switched to the “warm” setting after the timer shut off. Genius!

Yeah, you all probably knew that already.

Thanks for not telling me.

Reason 2:

COOKIES

What’s easier than making things *just* a little bit cuter for the holidays? Hit up the dollar store (Dollar Tree is my fave) for they have like 8,000 different kinds of cellophane bags right now that are super cute.

Exhibit A:

Mad Wrapping Skillz

I made cookies for our floor party at work today. I could have put them in a decorative tin (if I had one) or on a pretty plate (I don’t even want to discuss the balancing act that would mean for my commute), OR I could just put them in a clear container and wrap those babies in a pretty holiday bag. They even label them for dummies: basket bags, treat bags, baker bags, and cookie tray bags. Of course I found all the others before I found the cookie tray bags.

Also, it’s the time of year to butter that bread a little (something my boss always says)! Give a little something to the people in the office (or wherever) that help you every day. The mailroom peeps, word processing friends, or the security guard who makes you feel safe at night. It doesn’t have to cost a lot of $$! You technically don’t have to give them anything at all, so giving them any little thing will brighten their day. Promise. I put together these tins for our department this year.

I don't even want to discuss how much glitter was on these bows.

The tins? Um, Dollar Tree. Yeah, I love Dollar Tree. Don’t judge! I bet if I hadn’t told you, you wouldn’t have known! Right? Right?? Anyway, inside I put chocolates covered in cute labels I made, candy canes, some hard candy, and, of course, a card thanking them for being awesome.

not too shabby

What’s that? Yup, more cellophane bags. Gingerbread men treat bags this time. Love.

Little things go a long way during the holiday season. Not only will you put a smile on the face of the dude who brings your 800 Amazon packages to you this time of year, but when you overhear your work arch nemesis tell someone else how cute your cookie setup is, because they don’t know it’s yours, it’ll put a smile on your face.

Trust me. 😉

xxx

One Response to “Christmas Awesome: It’s The Little Things”

  1. Steps to the Shop December 16, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

    10 years late for sure! Crockpot cooking is so yummy and easy. I love how into the holidays you are. Lights went up, then my attention span was up.

Leave a Reply

