Food Obsession of the Moment: Soup… Diet? Day 4.

6 Jan

Day 4 = soup with meat in it. Men everywhere rejoice.

Hubby and I were both meeting (separate) friends for drinks after work this day so I put it in the crockpot to cook all day so we could both just eat it whenever we get home. I do love my new programmable crockpot! I said it before, I’ll say it again: programmable = genius.

So what did we have on this 4th day-o-soup diet? Well, a recipe found via Pinterest of course! I ❤ Pinterest so bad.

Chicken Tortilla Soup via Miller Musings
– 2 chicken boneless skinless chicken breasts
– 2 cans Ro-Tel (or diced tomatoes)
– 1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
– 1 can kidney beans, rinsed and drained
– 1 can corn
– 1 onion, chopped
– 2 cans low-sodium chicken broth
– 1-2 cups of water
– 1 Tbsp garlic powder*
– 1 Tbsp chile powder*
– 1 Tbsp ground cumin*
– 1 Tbsp dried cilantro*
– tortilla chips, sour cream and shredded cheddar or Mexican blend cheese for serving

*Instead of these spices, you could use a packet of Taco seasoning (I did, but only about a half packet because I don’t like spicy food and a full one would’ve been too much! I also added a bit more cilantro and garlic powder. Let your own taste buds decide what’s right for you!)

Put chopped onion, cans of beans, rotel, corn, chicken broth, water, and spices in Crock Pot and stir to mix. Put chicken breasts on top of mixture and make sure they’re at least partly submerged in liquid. Cook on high 6-7 hours or low 8-9 hours. Before serving remove the chicken breasts from soup and shred, if needed, (sometimes they’ll just fall apart on their own). Return chicken to CrockPot, stir to combine.

The taste of the soup was really good, like a chili, but for some reason it turned out reaaaally watery. And even after sitting in the fridge overnight, when I find that most soups will thicken, it didn’t. Still good enough to make again, but I think next time I’ll leave out the 2 cups of water.

This soup is slightly less healthy than the others, considering it’s served with such awesome things as cheese and sour cream (mmmm). Oh well. It’s still soup! Soup = healthy always. Right? Right.

xxx

One Response to “Food Obsession of the Moment: Soup… Diet? Day 4.”

  1. Steps to the Shop January 6, 2012 at 2:47 pm #

    You guys are so damn organized! Timing a crockpot makes life easier but I guess you still have to plan. I am on the Wawa diet, the diet that makes you fat, but you don’t have to plan!

Leave a Reply

