Food Obsession of the Moment: Soup… Diet? Day 5.

7 Jan

Day 5’s soup almost didn’t happen. It was a harrowing, stressful 5 minutes time. But I pulled through! Which makes me proud. I guess trying all these new soups back to back is a good learning experience. You learn what you like and what you’ll substitute, you learn how some substitutes make it so that you need additions of something else to balance out tastes and textures, and you learn that it’s hard to eat soup every day for 12 days. Especially when you realize you’re not going to be home for 4 of those days right AFTER you declare that you’re going on a soup diet for 12 days on your blog. Ooooops.

I’ll be at my mom’s house in NJ until Tuesday, and let’s just say my mom doesn’t like to try new things. Nor does she like anything that’s green, except lettuce. Or any other vegetable other than tomatoes really. Oh right, that’s technically a fruit. So… yeah. This is going to be a challenge. I think I’m going to “cheat” and have chili, because I know she eats and likes that. It’s not really cheating though, right? Chili’s soup-like. It’s just not healthy-trim-your-waistline-soup-like. I think I’ll bring a leftover soup or two with me to eat for lunch at least so that I really do complete my mission!

Yes, I am on a mission!

Day 5 is a soup I’ve been holding onto in my soup recipe hoard collection for a while now. One of my favorite blogs to follow is Eat Live Run. She’s such a fun girl, and she makes yummy food!

mmm... stoup...

Greek Alphabet Orzo Stoup (adapted from Eat Live Run)
– 1 cup orzo pasta (I didn’t have alphabet on hand, and orzo was pretty yummy in it, but if you want to use alphabet soup use 16 oz. of it.)
– 1 tbs. olive oil
– 1 tbs. balsamic vinegar
– 1 32 oz. can diced tomatoes (or whole tomatoes, chopped and cooked, see below)
– 1 10 oz. bag baby spinach
– 1/2 tsp. salt
– 2 lemons, zested (didn’t have, so used 2 tsp. lemon juice)
– 2 cloves garlic, minced

Oooops. I usually hoard cans of tomatoes in my pantry, but the soup diet has severly depleted my stash and I didn’t have any! Luckily I had 4 decent-sized fresh tomatoes that I chopped up, put in the pot first, threw a little salt and some of the minced garlic in with, covered and cooked on low for about 10 minutes or until it gets as much liquid out of the tomatoes as possible. I liked the taste of the fresh stewed tomatoes, so I’d probably do it again. If using fresh tomatoes, cook the pasta in lightly salted water while doing this. If using canned, cook the pasta first before proceeding. Drain and set aside. In a stock pot (but off the heat), add the garlic, olive oil, lemon zest (or juice), vinegar, tomatoes, salt and pepper (I hate pepper, but I know this is abnormal. Add it if you like it.). Add the pasta and spinach and place back over low/medium heat and cook until the spinach wilts. Remove pasta from stove and add the feta to serve.

Mmmm feta.

So my first issue was oops, didn’t have canned tomatoes. Second issue was for some reason this turned out like pasta, not like soup! The opposite of what happened to me on day 4, ha. Jenna (of ELR) does call it a STOUP (as in, combination of soup and stew, not quite either), but this didn’t even seem like stew, just pasta. I’m sure not having the right canned tomatoes played some role in this, since there’s usually plenty of liquid in those cans. But it was odd to me that the recipe didn’t call for any water or broth or anything liquid really. So after standing there, staring at the pot of pasta, for 5 minutes trying to figure out A if I did anything wrong (besides not having canned tomatoes) and B how to make it soup-like, I ended up adding 3/4 cup of water and shook some chicken boullion in so that we weren’t eating pasta for dinner instead of soup. I think it still would’ve been good, but this is a soup diet, damnit! Disaster avoided. Phew. That was a tough one.

Anyway, it was really really good and I kind of don’t want to share the leftovers with my husband so that’s one of the soups I’ll be taking to my mom’s house to eat all by myself. When my husband really likes something I cook he immediately says “You can make this again”. I beat him to it. I WILL be making this again.

It probably has something to do with the feta.

Mmmm feta.

I have a slight cheese obsession, in case you didn’t know.

I mean, who doesn’t, really?

xxx

Leave a Reply

