Food Obsession of the Moment: Soup… Diet? Days 6-8.

8 Jan

When I mentioned to my husband that I’d probably be having chili all weekend long at my mom’s house he screamed and cried and begged me to make him some for while I was away.

Or something like that.

My point being, I had to have chili Friday when I made it for him, and then Saturday and Sunday at my mom’s. I love chili, but it doesn’t make for a very interesting blog post, now, does it?? Especially since our chili, while delicious, is pretty much a recipe for dummies. I won’t ever change it, because I think it’s perfect as is, but this is not going to blow your mind, people. It’s just not:

Non-Spicy Chili (That’s what I named it in my recipe book, because I don’t like spicy things.  You can easily pick the spicy chili packet, instead of the mild, at the grocery store to alter this.)
– 1 lb. ground beef
– 1 onion, chopped
– 1 32 oz. can stewed tomatoes
– 2 cans (or 1 large can) red kidney beans
– 1 packet mild chili seasoning
– sour cream and shredded cheddar cheese for serving.

So… you brown your meat with the onion, drain the fat, add everything else into a stockpot and cook until the beans are done.

Mindblowing, I know.

Uh, sorry. If it’s any consolation and you’ve never made chili in your life, try the “recipe” above. It’s delish. And you can use the leftovers to make taco salad, which is truly the best part about chili anyway, in my opinion! Lettuce, sour cream, shredded cheese and tortilla chips. Yummmm.

Sometimes the simplest recipes are the best anyway.

xxx

Leave a Reply

