Food Obsession of the Moment: Soup… Diet? Day IDON’TKNOWISITOVERYET??

11 Jan

Ok, so… soup diet for 12 days… maybe not such a great idea.

I love soup and all, but… do you know how hard it is to eat soup every single day for 12 days? I’m at the point of gagging, to be honest. Which is why you haven’t heard from me since chili. I had an awful lot of chili last weekend. And now I’m not super inspired to make any other soups at this point for a few reasons. 1 – I have so many leftover soups I still need to eat. 2 – The aforementioned gagging. I really think if this “diet” were to go on for 14 days instead of 12 I actually would be gagging. At this point I’m just having to stear clear of all the soups I love because I’m over them and all of their ingredients!  3 – Um, yeah. If you know me, you’re going to be shocked at this statement: I can’t eat anything tomato-based at the moment. I loooove tomatoes. Fresh, in sauce, in soups, whatever. But due to that love, a lot of the soups I picked for these 12 days were tomato-based and, therefore, I need some space for the time being. Tomatoes, it’s not you, it’s me. Ok, it’s kind of you, but you know I’ll come running back to you soon enough.

Have I mentioned my husband gave up on the soup diet, and thought nothing of it? He was like, “I don’t understand why it’s a big deal, I’m eating a salad instead of a soup, so I’m still eating healthy.” Um, because a salad is not soup. But I guess he doesn’t blog about his soup diet so I’m the only one he has to answer to when he decides he doesn’t want to eat soup anymore. But I have held strong! Soup at least once a day for 12 days. Go me.

He also wanted to know how his mum knew we were on a soup diet. Um… because she reads my blog. Obvi.

Last night was a dark moment in the diet. I was so uninspired and glaring at my cans of tomatoes like they were evil. I bought some ginger last week to make Bon Appetit’s Cleansing Ginger Chicken Soup, which I thought of testing out last night until I read on my way home from work something about 2 1/2 hours of cooking time and screw that I WAS HUNGRY. So hungry. But determined to not use tomatoes and wanted to give my ginger a whirl, so with a bit of googling I found a gem of a recipe.

Healing Asian Soup with Ginger via Kalyn’s Kitchen
– 4 cups chicken broth
– 3-4 thick slices fresh ginger root
– 1 cup sliced mushrooms (I don’t like mushrooms, but it needed something so I added 1 cup diced carrots)
– 1 cup spinach leaves, sliced/torn into ribbons
– 1 green onion, very thinly sliced

In medium saucepan, bring chicken stock to a low simmer. Add ginger slices and let simmer at least 15 minutes or longer. If you’d like a clear soup, use a yogurt strainer or coffee filter to strain the ginger-infused chicken stock, then rinse pan and put strained stock back into pan. Add a small amount of water if the stock has reduced very much. While ginger simmers in stock, wash and slice mushrooms and thinly slice spinach leaves. Clean green onion and slice into very thin slices. Bring infused stock back to a low simmer, then add mushrooms and simmer 1 minute. Add sliced spinach and simmer one minute more. Turn off heat, add green onions and serve.

This soup was delish, and I’m definitely keeping it in my soup arsenal for the next time I have a cold. It’s perfect for when you’re sick! Or when you’re not and just on a soup diet. For one week too long. Note to self: Next time try soup diet one week, salad diet the next. Or just stay fat.

One more day…

xxx

Leave a Reply

