Food Obsession of the Moment: Soup… Diet? OVER.

12 Jan

The soup diet is over.

It was tough, but I made it.

I know you all feel for me.

My last soup recipe (for quite a while!) is from a book I have called:
Cheap & Easy: A Cookbook for Girls on the Go

It’s called “Fred & Ginger”, and is a pumpkin soup. My husband refused to try it. Much like when his first Thanksgiving when I told him the best part was pumpkin pie and he thought that was so gross and didn’t want to try it. Until he saw it in person and I caught him with a slice after dinner and now he begs me every year to make it (sometimes I even have to make an extra for our house). He’s got this weird aversion to pumpkin things until he tries them. PS he loves butternut squash soup and didn’t want to hear that pumpkins are basically squash. Whatever, his loss.

Fred & Ginger Pumpkin Soup
– 1 cups chicken or vegetable broth
– 1 15 oz. can pumpkin (about 2 cups)
– 1 cup milk or cream
– 1 tbs. grated fresh ginger
– salt to taste
– chopped chives and sour cream for serving

Combine all ingredients in a stock pot (except those for serving), bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer uncovered for 15 minutes.

Notes: Something burnt during the bringing to a boil part and tasted really gross when I got a big chunk of it in the soup. I’m not sure if it was the pumpkin itself or a combo of things, but MAN. PS I usually love burnt things. Carcinogens are my favorite. Not this time. I think next time I would try cream instead of milk as well because the texture wasn’t as thick and I’m thinking that had something to do with the burning. But it was still good!

Now… heading out to dinner! SO EXCITED. Going to stuff my face and erase all the healthy eating of the past 12 days.

xxx

One Response to “Food Obsession of the Moment: Soup… Diet? OVER.”

  1. Cousin Cathy January 20, 2012 at 11:37 am #

    Pumpkin ravioli is to die for and is all the rage out in the county since the frost got on the pumpkin

Leave a Reply

