I Made Something Awesome: Pepper Steak Stir Fry

25 Jan

I’m more of a “cook with what I have” than a “go out and buy the things I need” type of person. It makes me feel more accomplished when I can come up with something out of what I already have, I guess. Or, I’ll go through cook books and if I have all (or most) of the ingredients – Bingo!

The other night I came up with a good one. We had some cooked chopped steak in the freezer that I thawed out, determined to come up with something to make with it. Stir fry came to mind (and was the winner), and it sure was good. The only thing I bought was a yellow pepper and that’s because we were already out and there was a little produce market on our walk home. Otherwise I would’ve just done without.

I guess I’ve never really made stir fry completely from scratch before, interestingly enough. I like that the recipe I adapted mine from called for tomatoes. (Oh yes, tomatoes and I are friends again.) Do all stir fry recipes use tomatoes? If so, I never knew!

Pepper Steak Stir Fry adapted from here
– 1 to 1.5 pounds steak, cut into thin 2-inch strips
– 1-2 Tablespoons oil
– 1 onion, sliced (I almost always prefer mine chopped, so did that.)
– 1 clove garlic, minced
– 2 tomatoes, diced (I used 1 can diced tomatoes)
– 1 green bell pepper, sliced
– 1 red bell pepper, sliced (not a huge fan of red peppers, so left them out of mine)
– 1 yellow bell pepper, sliced
– 1 cup beef broth
– 1/2 tsp salt
– 2 Tbs soy sauce (I used terriyaki sauce)
– 2 tsp fresh grated ginger
– 1/2 cup cold water
– 2 Tbs cornstarch (4 tbs. all purpose flour)*
– 4 cups of hot cooked rice (loving brown rice at the moment)

In large skillet, fry steak, onions, and garlic in oil over medium heat. (I left out my steak because it was already cooked.) When onions are starting to turn translucent and steak is partially cooked (still some pink), add tomato, beef broth, salt, and soy sauce. Cover and simmer for about 10 minutes, until meat is tender. Add bell peppers and stir to mix them in. Cook until peppers are crisp-tender (it does and it doesn’t make sense). In a small bowl, whisk together flour and water. Add to pepper steak pan, stirring to avoid lumps and cook until mixture thickens. (Boil/simmer for about 3 minutes.) Serve over hot rice.

*In case you were wondering, all purpose flour can substitute for cornstarch by doubling the amount needed.

I totally forgot that my husband isn’t home for dinner tonight, which is a very rare occurrence! Usually if he’s out, I’m out, or we’re out together. But tonight, I’m home, he’s out… so I’m panicking trying to remember all the things I said I’d cook for myself next time he wasn’t home for dinner! The only thing I can think of is zucchini – the one thing I like that he doesn’t. Besides pumpkin soup/beer, I guess. So I guess it has to be something zucchini! Help? I’ll probably end up just throwing it on pizza or something, lol.

xxx

Leave a Reply

