I Made Something Awesome: Sweet Tea Chicken with Mango Avocado Salsa

13 Mar

Get this – my husband FLAT OUT REFUSES to try peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. My husband eats ANYTHING I make him. I don’t even run by him what I’m making for dinner, he just eats it when it’s ready.

Me: Do you like peanut butter?

Him: Yes.

Me: Do you like jam (jelly)?

Him: Yes.

Me: Do you like bread?

Him: Yes.

Me: So then how come you won’t even try peanut butter and jelly sandwiches?? It’s not like I’m trying to make you eat MARMITE or anything. (PS Marmite’s gross, and he loves it.)

He is fully disgusted by the thought of PB&J, and this has caused several arguments now in which I just don’t get the irrationality and he tells me I have to try Marmite first – AGAIN. I have already tried it twice and the second time scraped it off my tongue in the sink it was so bad. No joke. ALSO – he has now stated that he would eat a soft pretzel with jam. WTF. Yes, he is dead serious. What is the rationale here? (This came up because Philly has this weird thing about putting mustard on soft pretzels. Bleh.)

Anyway, just had to share that.

I made something awesome last night. And exotic-ish. Go me!

Another area of disagreement in my house is whether tea should be hot or cold. My husband, being British, will only drink hot tea (with sugar and milk), and I come from a long line of sweet iced tea drinkers. I have come to enjoy hot tea, but given the choice I’d still revert to my sweet tea (or Wawa’s). So when I saw a recipe for using sweet tea on chicken, I ripped it out immediately. Then I put it in my recipe folder and found it 6 months later. Or 9. Or 12. I have no idea how long later. Nor do I have any idea what magazine it’s from. So… oops. Thanks whatever magazine I pulled it from, it was certainly a neat idea and I’ll definitely try it again (when we have a grill – it called for grilling but I improvised).

So Sunday afternoon I whipped up a batch up sweet tea, let it chill, and then added a bunch of stuff to it to make a marinade. It was really weird adding onions to my tea.

Image

rosemary and garlic, too…

Image

Sweet Tea Marinade
4 cups tea – allowed to cool completely (probably about 45 min or so)
1/2 cup sugar or brown sugar
1/4 cup chopped or sliced onion
1 tsp minced garlic
1 tsp rosemary
2 cups ice

Add all ingredients in a gallon sized ziplock bag, toss in the chicken (whatever chicken you want to marinate – I used drumsticks). Seal and lay in a low dish. Allow to marinate for 24 hours in the refrigerator. The recipe called for grilling, but, well, we’re packing and I didn’t feel like breaking out my mini-charcoal grill for the evening. Can’t wait to get a big gas grill when we move! So anyway, I roasted the chicken in tinfoil on a baking sheet on 450 degrees for 20 minutes.

But wait – there’s more! I haven’t really had time to post about it, but my goal/marching orders for the past few weeks has been to clear out our food reserves. Which has actually been, dare I say, fun! I’ve enjoyed coming up with ideas for dinner from random things we already have around the house. However, I depleted our meat supply in the freezer and had to replenish (since my husband can’t go two days without meat in his meal), so off to the grocery store I went. When I got there they had mangoes and avocados on sale for $1 – so I grabbed some. I figured I’d find something to do with them.

Last night when I was trying to figure out what to make to go with the chicken, I was trying to think of a way to incorporate mango… then I got CRAZY and decided I wanted to incorporate mango AND avocado. Look out! I googled “mango avocado salsa” without too much hope because I knew there’d be mango salsa, but hadn’t ever seen mango avocado salsa. Found one! And it.was.de.lish.

Mango Avocado Salsa adapted from Skinny Taste
1 mango – chopped
1 avocado – chopped
1/2 cup chopped tomato
1/4 cup chopped onion
1/2 tsp minced garlic
2 tbs. olive oil
1 tsp. lemon juice
3 tbs. cilantro
salt to taste

Mix it all, ‘fridge it all. Pull out in 30 minutes and serve with chicken… or tortilla chips. I will definitely be making this again. Also, I still have another mango and another avocado, so I may be making this again soon.

I wish I could share something other than recipes right now with you friends, but unless you want to see my glorious wall ‘o boxes in the guest bedroom… I think that’ll just have to wait!

xxx

Leave a Reply

