Moving Mumblings

23 Mar

Know what you find when you’re packing up your life?

Let me rephrase that: Know what you find when you’re packing up your life and the last time you moved was less than 2 months before your wedding so at the time you just threw everything you owned into boxes and didn’t actually go through anything?

A lot. But more specifically:

– The frozen zucchini you really wanted to cook with when your husband (who hates zucchini) was out of town, but couldn’t find a couple months ago.

– A $100 Bed Bath & Beyond gift card from your wedding shower that you never knew you had. (Awesome!) It was in a box with another gift the person had given me and I never realized a gift card accompanied it! Glad I hoard boxes and didn’t throw it out!

– A photo of you and your best friend at the Jersey shore about 1,000 years ago. (You also realize your husband never knew she was once blonde – so weird to me?!) Also, apparently I was Brazilian in high school. And we liked Vin Diesel.

– The ticket to that grilled cheese and beer tasting I told you about a while ago – it was only September, not a year ago like I thought! Phew. I guess that means I’m only kind of losing my mind.

– Remember the free AOL discs they used to send? I can’t be the only one who deleted all the AOL stuff and used them to store school work and stuff on… can I? And no, I didn’t throw them out after I found them. I need to see what’s on them first! And yes, my computer still has a disc drive.

– Every cell phone you’ve ever had. Ever. Minus the one I gave to my mom as a backup.

– Keys to places unknown. PS – Where can I get a skeleton key? The bedroom doors in our new house are all those old (um, and cool) locks that only a skeleton key will work in.

6 days until we move into our very own house. I can’t even put into words how badly I can’t wait for this! Sayonara a*&$@#% landlords. And living amongst a sea of boxes.

Marathon packing ahead of us this weekend, but tonight – TONIGHT! I get to FINALLY go see Hunger Games!

I have had March 23rd on my calendar for MONTHS.

Bought my tickets February 27th.

Reprinted my tickets again today JUST IN CASE I am unable to locate the ones I printed 3 weeks ago.

Wore my hair in a braid today in homage to Katniss (see above).

I KIND OF wish I had time to reread the first book again before I go. Just because I can’t stand the wait any more. I don’t think I’ve ever been so excited to see a movie before! And I’m pretty sure I’ve never bought tickets to a movie more than a week in advance. Wowza.

xxx

 

One Response to “Moving Mumblings”

  1. Cassie March 23, 2012 at 5:12 pm #

    Wow. I, too, can’t believe you will own a house in a few days!!! Also that photobooth pic is hilarious. I barely remember that. I do remember wanting those vin diesel pics. We were SO COOL.

Leave a Reply

