When One Door Closes… It Stays Closed (Apparently)

1 May

So… I went to show my husband how the door to the guest bedroom doesn’t stay shut last night. I figured this out when I was up doing stuff around the house til 3am the other night and he was in bed at 11, so I couldn’t show him then. Well, guess what – the door closed!

And is still closed… because apparently it was locked.

oops

So now our guest bedroom door is locked from the inside, and it’s like the only door in the house the previous owners didn’t leave us a key to.

I couldn’t stop laughing at the irony of me showing him the door wouldn’t stay closed and then it, well, staying closed! My husband did not find any humor whatsoever in this… so I have to fix it and prove that we don’t need to call a locksmith to open the damn door. I’m kind of wishing I’d left one of the windows open so I could climb in and open it, but I didn’t. I tried picking it with paperclips like I watched in a Youtube video, but apparently I wouldn’t be a very good burglar because I can’t, for the life of me, figure it out. There are no screws to unscrew on the door handle or hinges on this side of the door. When I put a little screwdriver into the little hole on the side of the handle, nothing happens. Any other ideas??? My husband’s out of town til tomorrow so I’d LOVE to have it fixed when he walks in the door. Who doesn’t love an “I told you so” moment??

*facepalm*

Help??

xxx

2 Responses to “When One Door Closes… It Stays Closed (Apparently)”

  1. cathy May 1, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    every hardware store has a “key” for these doors….take a picture of the lock unless you can read the MFG and go for it.

    You can also remove the hinge pins

    Been there done that

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Door Update « Home Made Awesome - May 9, 2012

    […] – just realized I never updated you on the locked guest bedroom door situation! Thanks for the emails and comments, you all had very helpful tips! But in the end, my husband was […]

Leave a Reply

